Composition of the Commission

The Martha's Vineyard Commission is made up of 21 Commissioners elected by Vineyarders or appointed by elected officials, of whom 17 are eligible to vote on regulatory matters.

  • 9 are elected by Vineyard voters in Island-wide elections held every two years,
  • 6 are appointed on an annual basis by the boards of selectmen of the towns on Martha's Vineyard,
  • 1 is appointed on an annual basis by the Dukes County Commission,
  • 5 are appointed by the Governor or member of the cabinet, four of whom do not vote on DRIs or DCPCs.

Officers are elected on an annual basis each December by the full Commission. The officers are the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Clerk-Treasurer.

If you are interested in becoming a Commissioner, you can either run in the Island-wide elections held every two years, or you could be appointed by a town, the county or the Governor or a member of his cabinet. For further information, please contact the Commission Administrator.

Current Commissioners

Gail Barmakian

Appointed by the Oak Bluffs Board of Selectmen

Clarence (Trip) Barnes

Trip Barnes

Elected member-at-large – Tisbury. Commissioner since 2013.

Trip is owner of Barnes Moving and Storage, the first president of the Vineyard House, and is a well-known auctioneer for a variety of Island causes.



Christina BrownChristine Brown

Elected member-at-large – Edgartown. Commissioner since 1997.
Christina is retired from being the Assistant to the Edgartown Planning Board for many years. She is a former MVC Chairman.

Rob Doyle

Rob DoyleElected member-at-large, Chilmark. Commissioner since 2015
Rob is retired, having spent thirty years in real estate finance followed by a career as a substance abuse counselor. He was a seasonal resident since the 1940s before moving here full time in 1999. In 2014, he moved to Chilmark from Vineyard Haven where he had served on the Finance Committee, the Housing Committee, and Harbor Management Committee.



Josh GoldsteinJosh Goldstein

Elected-at-large - Tisbury. Commissioner since 2013.
A native Vineyarder, Josh left his hotel development position in Florida and returned to Martha’s Vineyard where he works in his family owned inn, Mansion House. After attending MVRHS, Josh majored in Political Science with a concentration in Environmental Studies.


Fred HancockFred J. Hancock

Elected member-at-large - Oak Bluffs. Commissioner since 2010
Fred is self-employed as a technical director for corporate meetings. He is on the Board of the East Chop Association.


Leonard JasonLeonard Jason

Appointed by the County of Dukes County. Commissioner since 2010.
Lenny is Building Inspector for the Towns of Edgartown and Chilmark. He is a Dukes County Commissioner.


James JoyceJames Joyce

Appointed by the Edgartown Board of Selectmen. Commissioner since 2010.
Jim is owner/broker of Carroll & Vincent Real Estate and is a licensed construction supervisor by the State. Has served on the Edgartown Library committee.


Joan MalkinJoan Malkin

Chairman, Planning and Economic Development Committee
Appointed by the Chilmark Board of Selectmen. Commissioner since 2013.
Joan Malkin has been a year-round resident of Chilmark for three years and before that a seasonal resident for over 30 years. A retired attorney, she is on the Chilmark Conservation Commission and the Chilmark Planning Board.


Kathy NewmanKatherine Newman

Appointed by the Aquinnah Board of Selectmen. Commissioner since 2000
Kathy is a retired psychologist who has been living in Aquinnah since 2000. She is on the Conservation Commission and heads the Personnel Committee in Aquinnah.

Ben Robinson

Appointed by the Tisbury Board of Selectman.

Douglas SederholmDouglas Sederholm

Elected member-at-large – West Tisbury. Commissioner since 2003.
Doug is an attorney. He served on the Chilmark Finance Advisory Committee and is a former MVC Chairman.


Linda SibleyLinda Sibley

Chairman of LUPC
Elected member-at-large – West Tisbury. Commissioner since 1992.
Linda is the owner of the Vineyard Electronics. She is the longest-serving member of the MVC and a former MVC Chairman.


Ernest ThomasErnie Thomas

Appointed by the West Tisbury Board of Selectmen
Commissioner since 2015

Ernie Thomas has work in production control and planning, and is currently doing appliance repairs. He served on the Gay Head Fire Department and Dukes County Search and Rescue. 


Jim VercruysseJim Vercruysse

Elected member-at-large, Aquinnah. Commissioner since 2014.
Jim works at South Mountain Company.


Group photograph of Commissioners by Mark Lovewell, courtesy of the Vineyard Gazette. Portraits of Trip Barnes, Josh Goldstein, and Jim Vercruysse appear courtesy of the photographer, Ivy Ashe, and the Vineyard Gazette. Copyright Vineyard Gazette, all rights reserved.

Office location:

Office location:

The Stone Building
33 New York Avenue
Oak Bluffs, MA 02557

Telephone: 508-693-3453
Fax: 508-693-7894

Mailing Address

Mailing address:

Martha's Vineyard Commission
P.O. Box 1447
Oak Bluffs, MA 02557

Site Map


© 2008 - 2018
Martha's Vineyard Commission
All Rights Reserved